Mivos Quartet and Eric Wubbels
August 1–5, 2016
Concert Hall

The Mivos quartet (Josh Modney, Olivia De Prato, Victor Lowrie, and Mariel Roberts) and composer Eric Wubbels were in residence in Studio 2 to record his work being-time, for string quartet and electronic sound.

being-time is an audio variation on the psycho- logical experience of time. Extending nearly an hour, it moves from sections of extreme slowness and static sustains to high-energy plateaus of dense, saturated sound textures. In the final sequence, quadraphonic electronic sound pushes the performance into an altogether new dimen- sion, creating vivid psychoacoustic illusions by using extremely high sine waves.

Production Credits

being-time was released in 2017 by Carrier Records