Tone Builders

June 8–17, 2010
Concert Hall

The NYC-based ensemble Yarn/Wire recorded seven newly commissioned works by young composers (including Eric Wubbles, Alex Mincek, Kate Soper, Mei-Fang Lin, Davíð Franzson, Sam Pluta, and Aaron Einbond) for their debut recording, Tone Builders, released in 2010.

Founded in 2005, Yarn/Wire is a chamber quartet that specializes in the performance of 20th and 21st century music. In addition to the numerous world premieres of music written specifically for the ensemble, Yarn/Wire frequently presents US premieres by many leading international composers. The unique instrumental combination of two percussionists and two pianists allows the ensemble flexibility to slip effortlessly between classics of the repertoire and modern works that continue to forge new boundaries. Yarn/Wire maintains an active performing and teaching schedule at festivals, chamber music series, universities and colleges across the country.

Eric Wubbels alphabeta

Alex Mincek Pendulum VI: Trigger

Kate Soper Wolf

Mei-Fang Lin Yarny/Wiry

Davíð Brynjar Franzson The Negotiation of Context (B) for two pianos and two bass drums

Sam Pluta Tile Mosaic (after Chagall)

Aaron Einbond Passagework


Tone Builders by Yarn/ Wire, Audio recorded and produced at EMPAC, released by Carrier Records.